Dress Saga Follow-Up

Posted on October 24, 2008. Filed under: deciding | Tags: |

The Dress Saga

{Mr. Cheese, DELETE NOW.}

After I begged for help in deciding which dress to wear, reader lmdh helpfully suggested that I take a picture of myself wearing the bridesmaid’s dress with the pickups from Mori Lee.  So, this cheesy gal hopped right up from her comfy spot on the couch (hey, I work blog from home, call it a coffee break) and pulled out the dress.

Brief side note: I KNEW it was going to be too big.  I kindly suggested to the bridal shop woman that I’d need a size smaller than she might think because I have a small ribcage and (can’tbelieveI’msayingthisinpublicmuchlessontheInternet) amorphous boobage.  If the dress is too big, my breasts will sag to my waist and my dress will try to fall off.  She evidently believed that I just wasn’t at peace with my bridal dress size (speaking of which, why not go DOWN in size to make a bride feel better rather than worse, Bridal Marketing Gurus?) and ordered me a bridal size 10.  It’s.  Too.  Big.  In the pics that follow, I used clothespins to suck in at least four inches.  Argh.

If you look closely, you can totally see my opportunistic pooch chewing on my running shoe (in the right corner).  And no, I didn’t comb my hair today.  I work from home, remember?

Again, it’s the David’s Bridal dress (reposting the pic from before) or the bridesmaid’s dress.

I hate deciding! And I can’t tell whether I like the pickups dress or whether I just can’t believe my arms look pretty good in those pics (yes, I’m a little vain). Incidentally, whichever dress I don’t wear will be for sale once I decide.  And seriously, for heaven’s sake, if you’re on a budget, consider bridesmaid’s dresses.  I would never have guessed that the Mori Lee dress cost $140!!

Still the DB dress, y’all think?  My Cheesy Mama pragmatically suggested that by the time I get the too-big Mori Lee dress altered the two dress sizes I need, I’ll spend another hundred or more bucks.  I also like the idea that with the DB dress’s spunkiness (amazing that spell-check thinks that’s a word), I can somehow incorporate feathers or other fabulous frivolity!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Dress Saga Follow-Up”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

Hey Mari,
…yes to DB dress, especially if the other needs alterations, and I’m not there to do it!!! By the time you pay to have the dress made to your size (that’s at least two sizes!!!) you might as well have paid for the “Bridal” number… just saying!!!
Love you lots, MOM!!!

[…] own twinkly lights and luminarias.  Ballpark rentals estimate: $1800.  Add in $200 for tableware, $200 for my dress on eBay, plus an extra $100 for random things I bought and probably won’t use, and we’re […]

[…] Have I mentioned just how shitty I am at anything requiring decision-making?  Yes, I have. Also, here.  And […]

oh, the dilemma of picking the perfect wedding dress..


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

