Short and sassy

Posted on October 30, 2008. Filed under: inspiration | Tags: |

… I’m talking about hair, but I suppose you can describe me that way too.  🙂

My hair, if you recall (if you don’t, mouse over my chees-y icon and you’ll see a pic of me) is short.  In fact, it’s much shorter than it appears in that picture because it’s a graduated cut so the front is much longer than the back.

I love having short hair.  I’m not terribly tall (ahem, *cough* five foot nothing, to be exact) and I have a ton of hair.  Seriously.  A ton.  Every hair stylist I’ve ever been to has remarked on how much hair I have.  Lest you be creating voodoo dolls to wish me harm for what probably seems like a good problem to have, let me just say that most of my pre-short-hair pictures make me look like this:

source

Mr. Cheese, unlike Mr. Eggplant, is a huge fan of long hair, and more than once has suggested that I grow it out just so that he can see what it looks like.  Setting aside the fact that this isn’t at all like, “Try on that dress so that I can see it” because of minor things like time and daily aggravation, I’m not sure I WANT long hair on my wedding day simply because it’s my wedding day.  I want to look like me — only significantly more fabulous — and “me” has short and sassy hair.

Par for the course, I’m conflicted.  I like my hair short and think that it fits me.  On the other hand, I love my guy, and it would be fun to grow it out, even just a bit, so that the mister would get his wish.  Yea, yea, first-world problem, I know.

Supposing I’m keeping it short (even if I grow it out, it’ll be short), it’s so hard to find inspiration photos!  This post is for my short-haired sistas out there.

I *love* this bride’s hair.  While I obviously don’t have the length in the back, I think I could simulate the front waviness and general fabulousness.

source

Then there’s the always gorgeous Mariska Hargitay.  Her hairstyle here is much like my original plan: stick a flower in it and make it poofy.

source

She used that same strategy for her own wedding:

source

I’d call this one a faux-updo, while the poofiness in the front is much like the first picture.

source

I’m not sure I like the hairpiece, but I like the idea, and this is closer to my regular everyday hairstyle.

source

This bride is sassy  looking, eh?  I’m not sure I like this as much as the others, but maybe another short-haired bride will find some inspiration?

source

While I don’t think Ivana Bozilovic has short hair, I could mimic the style by pulling my hair back with a few pins and… yep, sticking a flower in it!

source

And, from my consistent source of fabulousness inspiration, Twigs & Honey:

source

source

The best part about the net-and-flowers hair pieces is that, if I can somehow get a little bit of Mrs. Pineapple’s DIY pixie dust, I think I can make it myself.

And, of course, we can’t have a short hair inspiration post without our very own Mrs. Gingerbread:

I’ll have to try some of these out and post embarrassing pics so that y’all can weigh in!  Stay tuned….

And now, it’s your turn.  Are you keeping your hair short for your wedding or growing it out?  Did your fiance factor into your decision?  If short, do you have inspiration pictures you can contribute to this post?

{Before you ask, no, I don’t know what I’m going to do about a veil, but don’t worry, you’ll see a post on that soon, if for no other reason that I think I read that a blusher veil is the “prerogative of a first-time bride.”  You KNOW I’ll have an opinion on the whole thing.}

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Short and sassy”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

i love ya mariska and ya hair its da best


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

