I must admit…

Posted on October 31, 2008. Filed under: deciding | Tags: |

I have a little nagging worry and I need your help dealing with it, pretty please.  Remember all of that stuff about the dress?  I liked the David’s Bridal dress all along, I’ll admit.  But (*sssshhhh*, this is the secret part) I bought the second dress for my guy.

Um, what?  Yea, hold on, I’ll explain.

My best girls and I went to try on wedding dresses together about a month before Mr. Cheese and I were officially engaged.  Yes, it was jumping the gun, but I justified it because one of my girls was about to move across the country and I wouldn’t see her again until our wedding and I didn’t want to miss out on such a fun experience.  During that “session,” I tried on a very traditional dress — beads and a big skirt and the whole nine yards — and we took a picture.  Gotta love the cheesy smile.

Late one night the mister and I were looking at pics from a party on my laptop and I backed up one picture too far.  There I was, in all of my silly-face and fake smile glory, in a wedding dress.

His reaction?  In a hushed voice, “You look like a princess!”

I love the sassy dress, but I gotta be honest, I want my guy to think, “Oh, my, gosh….!” in that same hushed voice when he sees me on our wedding day.  And while I look sassy and fun and very much like myself in the DB dress, I’m not sure I look like a princess. 🙂

Now, I know he’ll think I look fabulous no matter what I wear, and maybe all I need is to remind myself that I’m supposed to go with what feels best for me… but I love him, and this is his day too.  Who wouldn’t want that kind of hushed-in-awe reaction from their man on their wedding day?

Thoughts?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

