The Secret Life of Cheese (ahem, Bees)

Posted on November 3, 2008. Filed under: reality |

As Pengy mentioned in her post, we’re doing a Secret Life of Bees feature this week….

I’ve struggled a bit to think of something really juicy to share.  I mean, we’ve already talked about boobs, screw-ups (more than once), indecisiveness, and my lack of gardening know-how.  I don’t have a secret tattoo or a super-secret alter ego, and you already know I’ve been married before.

Should I talk about cutting the cheese?  Stinking like cheese?  The moldy cheese in my fridge?  Funny (at least I think so) but not terribly exciting or gossipy.

Okay, fine, here’s my secret: I’ve only made three wedding-related purchases and our wedding is seven months away (well, four if you count each dress separately along with the mister’s shirt and tie and blank stationery… or, is that five?).  Even more amazing, we haven’t settled on a date, decided about a wedding party, or put in a rental order! And, um, we don’t really have a budget, figuring we’ll spend what we must and not a penny more.

*Whew*  Felt good to get that off my chest.  I sometimes feel way out of my league in DIY-ness and planning around my fabulous bee sistas. *cough, Miss Taffy, cough*

We have some leeway because we’re hosting our shindig at home, and we probably have until January before my people start clamoring for some details but we’d better get moving, if only to quell my shallow, panicked breathing.

First, though, we’ve gotta actually clear the path to the clearing.  And get a plumber to fix the basement dampness (so that it can be our loft-like guest suite).  And replace the bathroom fixtures.  And rip out the kitchen cabinets so that we can fit a full size refrigerator, not to mention finally replace the fake-wood countertops (yippee!)… so it’s not like we’re not doing anything, just that much of it isn’t directly wedding-related.

Oi.  I think I need a drink.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

