Things that are better since being engaged

Posted on December 5, 2008. Filed under: life is good |

I was working on a sewing project last night (I know, I still haven’t told you about it, but it’s because I’m not finished yet!) and I noticed how much I enjoyed pinning fabric, which I usually hate, because I liked the way my engagement ring sparkled when I spread my left hand to hold the pieces in place.  It got me thinking about other things that are better since we’ve been engaged.

  1. Meals with the future in-laws.  My fiance’s family is very small and very close, so I tended to feel like an intruder when I joined them for meals, especially for special occasions.  Since we’ve been engaged, I’ve felt less like an interloper.  Mr. Cheese and I have noticed that we’ve had more fun with them lately, and I wonder if this is why?
  2. Home improvement.  Rather than working on projects for the sake of temporary aesthetics (I was a happy renter before we bought this house), we’re now “building a home together.”  Every decision has more meaning, from paint (is it washable?) to bathroom tiles (will children slip on them?), so I’m enjoying the decision-making much more than before.
  3. Cooking.  This is likely one of my strange quirks (there are many), but before we were engaged, I only had fun cooking for us if it was an elaborate meal.  That’s how you cook for your boyfriend, right?  You try to impress him!  Now that we’re engaged, deciding what we’ll be eating each day is fun because the pressure’s off (and also, I’m lucky enough to have a man that could care less what he eats, but enjoys the heck out of it once it’s in front of him).
  4. Dinner with the neighbors.  We live on a fabulous street with very close neighbors who have twice-yearly block parties, among other things.  The mister already lived on this street before we bought our house together, and I always felt a bit like a temporary resident.  Everyone else is either married* (seriously) or comes solo, so I was the exception.  Now, I’m not… we’re official!!
  5. Sewing.  I like to look at my sparkly ring, and it keeps me from hating sewing so much.

I’ll keep updating this list as I think of or discover more things.  What have you found to be more fun or enjoyable since you got engaged?

*We have a couple of same sex couples on the street, and I count them as married for this purpose (even though they can’t be — don’tgetmestarted).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

