Help me help you

Posted on January 22, 2009. Filed under: please |

{You know the movie reference, right?}

Yesterday’s rant about our dear fiances and their sometime lack of understanding of the bazillion details that brides have to handle struck a chord with me.  Yea, duh, since I wrote it, but also because I so related to all of your comments.  I kept thinking, I’m having a hard time with the details — yea, because I don’t want to have to deal with them and because it annoys me that Mr. Stinky Cheese has no clue how much I’m dealing with — but I’m not having to worry about the task management aspect.  Meaning, I’m a trained project manager, perfectly capable of handling dependencies and shifting timelines and priorities and delegations in my head.  Woe to the poor girls who have to plan a whole wedding without that background.

But I might be way off base.  Perhaps it’s easier for the rest of humanity (first-world brides, anyway) to deal with it than me.  Maybe it’s my background that causes my frustration that it’s not easier and faster.  Maybe if I buckled down and got it all together, I’d be better off.  But if that’s not the case, and you’re struggling too, what do you need?  How can I help?  Who knows, maybe it’ll make me get it together and treat this like a work project.  There are a thousand templates and checklists and systems out there, and quite a few good references on this site.  Would it be helpful for me to aggreggate them into one post?  Do you want a one-stop-shop with pros and cons of the major wedding planning tools out there?  If I built a simple wedding planning project plan, would that help?  I quickly gave up on much of what was out there because my wedding doesn’t require it all, and I didn’t want to figure out what was necessary and what was (to me) fluff.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

