I’ve been a busy bee… wocka, wocka

Posted on January 28, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So, on my last post, I got called out on the fact that I’ve been blogging about planning a wedding, and not actually telling you about the plans!  {Honestly, I’m kinda flattered that you care! Awwww.}

And whoa, boy, have I been busy.  You’ll be proud (and if you’re not, can you fake it for me, because I’m rather proud?) of how much I’ve done in a few short weeks.

What prompted the flurry of activity, you ask?  Why, a BRIDAL FAIR!  Uh, huh, a whole bunch of vendors in a big convention center all asking, “Do you have a caterer? Have you ordered your linens?  Who’s doing your rentals? Have you taken dance lessons? Where are you getting your dresses? Do you need a room for your wedding night?” does WONDERS for getting your patootie in gear and getting things done.  And let’s be honest, so does the fact that at some point, y’all were bound to catch the fact that I was all talk and no inspiration.  {Thank you for loving me anyway.}

If you haven’t yet been to one, I do have a couple of hints to offer (most of which I failed to do and could have kicked myself over):

  • Take return address labels.  Seriously.  You’ll be asked a thousand times if you want to sign up for a drawing (“Yea, so you can get my email address,” I wanted to say every time… but I still did it), and rather than write out your information every time, slap one of those pre-printed puppies on there and they’ll be so impressed.  That’s bound to help you in negotations later, right?  Heck, if you’re really on top of it all, print out some labels that have your full name, phone number, mailing address, email address and wedding date.
  • Take advantage… and take your calendar.  If you need to choose linens (like me), you can book appointments with three different companies on the spot, and then you won’t have any excuses left for why you haven’t booked the appointment.  Bonus: you can say to vendor #2, “I just came from vendor #1’s booth and if I book within the next 30 days, they’ll give me 25% off.  Are you offering a similar discount?”
  • Take a good friend and an appetite.  There will be food samples galore, and you’ll want more opinions than your own (yes, I often have multiple opinions).  You’ll get to decide how you feel about “fancy” food (you know, the kind you have to sniff first before you decide if you want to eat it) before you meet with your caterer, and you’ll get some ideas.

I took some pictures for you (I know nothing about picture taking, so forgive me).

Lemons!

img_0828

Dig the lemons and apples.  The pineapple?  Not so much.

img_0827

And, just to prove that bridal shows don’t have to be all about your wedding… how awesome is this little room simulation?  I want it.

img_0832

Coming soon, the details… on the tent (in the street!), the linens (and how to avoid renting them, if you so desire), the tableware (you won’t believe where I bought, yes, bought mine), and *gasp* self-catering.  Yes, I really am that crazy.  Everyone I share any of the details with agrees, but our couples counselor says it’s okay to be myself (*snort*).  Oh, yea, I also have to tell you about dance lessons, wedding planner meetings, and the chicken’s guide to negotiating.  And we’re making progress on the wedding party attire, have a date almost set for DIY hair flowers and veils, and I’m almost ready to print invitations… on a seriously extreme budget.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

