Easy’s not always best

Posted on February 1, 2009. Filed under: reality |

I’ve learned a lesson.  Well, okay, I’ve been learning a lesson, continue to keep learning a lesson, am trying to learn a lesson.

Easy is not always best.

Way back when we first got engaged, I came up with this crazy two wedding solution to keep my family from having to travel.  Seriously, C.R.A.Z.Y., complete with repeating our vows days after we said our vows so that both sets of parents would get to see us speak our vows.  Thought I learned the lesson.

Then I came up with this no wedding party solution to keep from having to deal with details that might overwhelm me.  People love us, however (we’re lucky), and want to be included.  Thought I learned the lesson.

And now, I’m going back and forth on groomsmen attire in order to keep them from having to go shopping just for our wedding.

Hello, lesson?  Have we met?  I think so!

Consider this a reminder that keeping things easy isn’t always best.  In fact, many of the great things in life aren’t easy, and in the end, you’re glad and relieved and proud that you made it through.  Right? That’s why we’re in relationships?

Embrace the difficult, the challenging, the tedious — but make sure that it’s really important you and your people.  Try to remind yourself to look at it from each person’s perspective, not from your own.  A man will not die because he has to go shopping for properly fitting gray slacks.  You might die if you have to go with every one of them, but individually it is handleable.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

