Makeup Trial, Part I

Posted on February 11, 2009. Filed under: please |

Let’s talk about sensitive skin – AND HOW IT TOTALLY SUCKS.  At the slightest irritation, my eyelids get nasty and dry and scaly.  Sexy, I know.  If the reaction is really bad, the corners of my eyes suffer the same fate.  And while the rest of humanity (okay, okay, women in first-world countries) love, love, love mineral makeup, I get clogged pores.  Fabulous.

A makeup trial was in order.

I started with MAC, playing hooky (ssshhh) one afternoon to drop by for a consultation.  While it looked beautiful, thankyouverymuch, I had itchy eyes and flaky lids within an hour, so I didn’t take any pics before I washed it off.  Bummer.

Plan B: Aveda.  I heart Aveda.  Ready?  Here are the pics (yes, I’m a dork). And no, you don’t get before pics.  One: why would it matter what I looked like before?  Two: I forgot.

With quickie DIY hair flower made by crafty FSIL.  It was there.  It compelled me.

Let’s pretend that I purposely closed my eyes so that you could see my eye makeup.  Uh, huh.  Right.

Oh, hello.  I look simultaneously like a five year old and a dancer.  Ahem.  We’ll blame the flower barely hanging on to the side of my head.

Again with the flower.  And with the tired eyes.  Maybe I’m exhausted because the bird is attacking my head? (Honestly, I kinda like it.)

This is where I try to make normal faces to get an idea of how horrible I’ll look on our wedding day.  First, the crinkly amused smile.

I make this face more often than anyone should, given how not effective it is at conveying… well, whatever I’m trying to convey.  Disbelief, perhaps?

This must be serious disbelief.

Scrunchy face smooshy eyes mult-chin smile.

We’ll end with the best picture of the bunch, in my humble opinion: the one of the neat-o china cabinet that I scored off of Craigslist for a song (actually, cash, but not much of it).  See how it matches my other buffet thing?  Swoon.  I heart furniture.

Right.  Back to the point: while the Aveda makeup looked pretty good in person, I wasn’t thrilled with how it photographed, and it wore off pretty quickly.  So, next week I’m headed back to MAC to try again, this time with different eyeshadow colors.  A little birdie told me that many women have a hard time with red pigments, so I’ll keep that in mind when we choose eyeshadows.  I think I’d like more dramatic eyes, but then I’ll have to go lighter on the cheeks and lips, and I kind of liked them this time around.  What do you think?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Makeup Trial, Part I”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

Ok. First: Me likey. It photographs best at an angle and straight-on when the feathers are pointed back. The make-up looks good, but I would add more drama to the eyes (in agreement with you) and I do not like the lip color….sorry:( It is distracting. We need one concentration point…….eyeballs and flower are already 2. Maybe pale and shiny or bronzy beauty like your dermal layer. LOVE YOU, MEAN IT.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

