The making of a color scheme

Posted on February 16, 2009. Filed under: deciding |

I fought against having a color scheme.  Oh, boy, did I fight it.  I’m not sure why, but to me, the choosing of a color palette for our wedding was like giving into the pressure to make it an event rather than a celebration.  We don’t really color coordinate Thanksgiving, right?  But we do tend to stick to certain colors for Christmas and Fourth of July, and I’ll begrudgingly admit that it’s rather festive.  So I gave in.

Ta, da!

fullscreen-capture-02102009-35231-pmbmp

source

For months, I’ve been winging it when I’m asked about colors, most often saying, “Green like the grass, blue like the sky, yellow like sunlight, and any flowery colors.”  While I love a nice, calm, restrained palette (like my original invites), in personality I’m more of an explosion of color.  So is the mister.

I walked in our front door the other day and was struck by the realization that these colors live in our home.  Look!

20081Do you see them all?  So, while I bid a sad adieu to the hundreds of ideas I have, I’m comfortable that we’re well represented.  Also, they look like a party, don’t they?  Evidence:

fullscreen-capture-02102009-35158-pmbmp

source

I will try to steer us away from the tie-dye and more toward the field of flowers, but hey, we are putting a tent in the street, after all!  Oh, have I not told you about that yet?  Bad Cheese.  More on that later.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “The making of a color scheme”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

Long time reader, first time poster. Firstly love your blog, so much of what you write it is scarily similar to myself including being a repeat bride. And you write it a lot better than I could, so thank you. And secondly colours, I was so adamant I didn’t have them either I didn’t understand the wedding obsession with colour schemes, but they have a habit of just happening and if I do admit to having them, mine are pretty much the same as yours 🙂

Rosalie – you made me laugh. It’s nice to know I’m not the only feeling like I got sucked into the color scheme vortex! Thanks for commenting.

When can I have the chair?

Oh, and Frank should be included;)


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

