Learning lessons everywhere

Posted on February 19, 2009. Filed under: life is good |

We have a puppy.

img_0394
And he’s a boy. 🙂

Well, to be accurate, we had a puppy who is now a rather handsome adolescent dog (I’m a proud mama).

Indiana Jones Jr. (What? It was the first movie we ever saw together!) has been incredibly helpful in teaching me skills for life, as I hear dogs are wont to do.

I struggle with the idea of being a team, my guy and I. In what I’m willing to call a flare of arrogance, I want to be perfect all by myself, so I tend to look at him as an aspirational example rather than a partner. Said another way, if what I love about him is that he’s funny, I try to be funnier rather than appreciate that he balances my seriousness.

Back to the dog. I’m the dog trainer, strategy researcher, curriculum creator, put-the-foot-and-lay-the-law-DOWN one. My guy is the resident playmate, puppy chaser, dog wrestler, rile-him-all-up one. Today it whacked me over the head that we’re the perfect pair. {My epiphanies often take the form of a rather violent smack upside the head.}

Without me, Indy Poopyhead Jones would have no manners. We’d be covered in muddy pawprints, stinky dog drool, and cat-poop dog breath. We’d be nipped and licked and sniffed in all sorts of uncomfortable ways. And we’d be unceremoniously stuffing a quickly growing dog into a crate on a regular basis, or using our bodies to try to prevent him from forcing his way out of the quickly closed door. Because of me, he happily trots into his crate at a softly spoken request.

But without my guy, Indy Stinkybutt would be a very well-mannered but slightly boring (and bored) dog. He’d never get to run around the yard maniacally chasing a sprinting and juking owner until they both collapsed in a heap. He wouldn’t get to lick a human’s face up one side and down the other without getting scolded. He’d miss out on the unique experience of a sudden full body hug from a full-grown man. And de’d never have gotten a sibling. Yup, our pup was gifted with another dog of his very own.

Meet Beau.

He likes full body hugs, too. And someday, he might even have manners.

I’m think I’m beginning to understand this team thing.  Have you learned about your relationship in unexpected ways?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Learning lessons everywhere”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I think our dogs are long lost twins!
http://www.luvmutt.com/blog/2007/05/barkley.html

Katherine – You’re so right! I’m stunned! Barkley’s an unknown mix, too, so we’ll have to look for a triplet if we ever hope to know what they are… hahaha.

such cute pups! luckily my dog was already housetrained when we got him, but me and my guy are similarly opposites and i like to think it makes us a good team by balancing each other out – both with the dog (he is the playful roughhousing one who lets him sleep in our bed; i’m the one who wants to lay down the law) and in life (i like rules and plans and frugality; he encourages me to relax and spoil ourselves).


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

