This is called a bleg

Posted on February 25, 2009. Filed under: contest |

Bleg = i.e., using your blog to beg for something.

Here’s the thing: I am DREADING designing our invitations.  And when I say “designing,” I literally mean typing out the information in two fonts that go together, not actually designing by any means. My expectations are low and I still can’t manage to reach them myself.  I get stuck on wording, can’t manage to combine fonts in a way that’s not ugly, and am now thiscloseImeanit from handwriting a message and photocopying it.  Swear.

So, I’m here to ask for your help.  Will you design my invites, pretty please? In exchange, I’ll hook you up with my own personal copy of “The Wedding Book” by Mindy Weiss, shipping compliments of yours truly.  I’ll even promise not to autograph it.  Contest ends Friday, March 6th.

source

I have white 5.5 x 8.5 invitations with a green floral thingamabob in the top center (save 2 inches at the top for it) and 5.7 x 4.25 response cards with an apple green border.  You can find Word templates for both at the bottom of this post.

In terms of style, I like classic, simple, and bold. We both dig typewriter fonts. I’m a girl on a budget using a Canon printer, and I don’t want anyone to think that I think that I’m trying to fake letterpress, if you know what I mean.

Here are pics I’ve saved in my “ideas-invites” folder:

Bumblebee Press via Style Me Pretty

I so love the r (heart) k.  In fact, I even like the way I just typed that with the “heart” spelled out.

ABCD Designs via Style Me Pretty

I realize that I said simple and bold, but the swoopiness of the words, “Celebrate the Newlyweds” appeals to me, what can I say?

Modern Girl Invitations

Modern Girl Invitations

Betsy White Stationary Boutique

And, because no inspiration post is complete without a nod to my peeps here at Weddingbee, I-so-wish-I-could-be-just-like-her Mrs. Lovebug’s invites:

link

Now that we have the style situation out of the way (um, yea, those links are all I have to offer**), let’s talk about details.

  • I need three different invites: one for our May 24th ceremony and reception, one for our reception only, and one for our July 4th hometown reception.
  • I’m a casual gal, so casual wording is preferable.
  • The Cheeses are hosting in Knoxville but we’ll need to include two sets of parents on the hometown invite – my mom and stepdad and dad and stepmom.
  • The RSVP will need to allow for three options: join us in Knoxville, join us in New Mexico, or join us at both!  I’d like space for people to send us a note.
  • I’m not comfortable posting our full names on here (Big Brother, ya know*) so we’ll go with pseudonyms for typography reasons: Melissa Nance Tollis and Jonny L. Minton, Jr.  Bonus points for incorporating a monogram that I can reuse later.
  • Feel free to make up the rest of the details.

Whew.  Ask questions in the comments…!

To sweeten the deal, Indiana Jones Jr. (the dog) will give you the sweetest puppy smoochies for helping me out – will that convince you to submit an entry?  Email me with your entry — including the fonts you used — at mscheese.bee@gmail.com by Friday, March 6th and I’ll post my favorites and the winner the following week!

Puppy smoochies and kitty kisses,

The Cheesiest

Invitation Word template

Response Card Word template

*I’m totally kidding.  Mr. Cheese is not.

**I’m reminded of “Days of Thunder,” when still-a-cutie Tom Cruise could drive the car but not “speak car.”  I don’t “speak design.”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “This is called a bleg”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

[…] This is called a bleg […]

Are the invitation word template and response card templates supposed to be links because they aren’t working?

I’ll come up with something. It will give me something to do in class. 🙂

Katy – you’re right. I think I fixed them… let me know if they’re still not working for you!

Worked just fine. 🙂

What pseudonyms would you like to use for your parents?

For now I have Mr & Mrs Mom Stepdad and Mr & Mrs Dad Stepmom… I think Mr. & Mrs James Bond would be good for one…


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

