Is DIY a state of mind?

Posted on March 12, 2009. Filed under: crafty-crafty |

In my head, I’m a DIY’er.  I’ve built furniture, painted (and painted and painted) houses, laid tile, and sewed slipcovers.  When it comes to anything home-related, I think, “I can do that!”  And then I do.

Then I started planning a wedding.  I assumed that I could pull together a fabulous wedding on a super low budget by being creative about materials.  I mean, c’mon, I practically LIVE at Home Depot and Lowe’s. (True story: every time I walk in, I’m greeted by at least one worker who asks how my latest project is going.)

The DIY bride in real life is not living up to the DIY bride in my head.  I got to thinking today, maybe I’m NOT a DIY bride.  Maybe I’m a DIY homeowner who has to accept her limitations on the bridal front.  Because boy, oh, boy, the DIY thing is not going well.

Here’s an example: wedding-day makeup.  I’ve done three makeup trials and none were quite right.  I’ve taken to wearing full makeup on a daily basis (looks really cute with my work-from-home attire, let me tell you) just to practice.  Today, at lunch, on a Walmart run for cat food, I found myself paralyzed in indecision — pinkish or yellowish eye shadow?  Um, hello, it’s FIVE BUCKS.  So I chose one, tried it out in the car in the parking lot (yea, I’m totally classy like that) and didn’t like it.

That, in a nutshell, is my DIY experience.  I assume I can do something, discover that I lack the necessary skills to make the right decisions, and get fed up and annoyed.  Then I still don’t make the right decision.  Remember my invitations frustration?

I think that it’s time to admit that I’m out of my element, and as proud as I might be to claim that I did it all myself, I just can’t… and still keep our budget low and my sanity intact.  I’m not a DIY bride, not in the “holy cow, she did just as good a job as a  professional!” sense of the term.

And yet, this post isn’t going to end like you thought it would, with me admitting that I just can’t do it and that I’ve decided to hire some pros.  While part of me would love to do that, budget-be-damned, it would feel like giving in.  And speaking of the budget, it’s definitely a factor.  I don’t want to spend much money, but I don’t want it to look like I didn’t spend much money.

So I don’t know.  I’ll let you know what happens next once I figure that out, but I’m wondering, is anyone else coming to terms with the fact that they’re just not good at the wedding DIY stuff?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Is DIY a state of mind?”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I wish I was more DIY-inclined, but it’s just not my skill!

On a make-up related note though, I’ll share with you 2 tips:
I had an accidental aha! moment when I ordered makeup online. I compared the colors with a photograph of me, and if the color(s) made my skin pop, I ordered it, and if it was just so-so, I skipped it. The results are amazing! So I highly recommend doing the same thing. 🙂

And check out http://www.taaz.com – it’s a free online makeover site that allows you to apply different makeup colors/brands on yourself, so you can see what works and what doesn’t. It shows you what brands/color you chose, and alternatives in every price point. I love this site!

I’m another DIY hardcore (all my family is…I’ve never seen a plumber and my uncle and great-uncle are literally building a cabin on our land)
I just want to support and tell you if you’re not succeding on the first (or second, or third) try, keep on trying, maybe with the help of a friend or relative you’ll finally manage to do it.
About make-up… my advice is to keep natural colours, and a little lighter eyeshadow closer to the nose to make your skin glow.
See how you look in natural light, artificial light and on camera to get a look that will look flattering on you.
(by the way, my cousin got married and had make up done by a professional…whom applied way too much and made her look like a…call girl!)

Vero – for my first wedding, I had my makeup done by my hairstylist and it was awful, too!!

Janna – that website is the coolest!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

