Two months and counting… a status update

Posted on March 25, 2009. Filed under: reality |

I’m guessing that many of you prefer the posts where I pour my heart out in honesty and angst (it’s ok, I think I might prefer those too) while others are curious about this whole at-home wedding thing I’m planning.  I’m hoping that my posts over the next few months will go in both directions, but lately my brain is all about the task list, so bear with me if you’re in the first camp.  I will be back to soul searching shortly.

As of today, we have (oh, gawd, I just checked) sixty days.  Exactly.  Excuse me while I have a heart attack and find some booze, probably not in that order.

Okay, I’m back. I’m going to show you my to-do list so that a) you can commiserate with me, b) you might notice something you’ve forgotten on your own to-do list, and c) you can see what having an at-home wedding might be like and make an informed decision about whether that’s the right thing for you.  After we survive our wedding, I’ll do a Lessons Learned post just for at-home weddings.

Here’s what I have done:

  • (Finally) Finished the design for our invites.  It’s nothing spectacular, but I like it.  I will share it soon. Check.
  • Confirmed that we do in fact have someone to marry us, on the right day, at the right time.  Check.
  • Written my vows. Check.
  • Thought about our ceremony and the elements I would like to include. Half-check (for thinking and not yet doing).
  • Decided on attire for groomsmen and dads (more on that soon). Check.
  • Found a dress for our junior bridesmaid, my tween niece (more on that soon).  Check (thanks, Mom).
  • Purchased the components of the cake platters (more on that soon).  Half-check.
  • Put together miscellaneous printed stuff (recipes, menu descriptions, etc). Half-check.
  • Decided to print pictures of our guests to go with their thank you notes. Half-check.  Alternate plan: use the same graphic from our invites on the outer envelope.
  • (Mostly) Hired a caterer. Half-check.
  • Dropped off my wedding band to be sized.  Discovered that it cannot be engraved (boo, hiss).  Must discuss with my guy. Half-check.
  • Decided to hell with it on the makeup drama.  I will use the makeup I already have, applied with a slightly heavier hand and set with powder, and will worry about it for not one minute more. Half-check (because I know I will continue to obsess over this one).
  • Ordered my groom’s suit (again, more on this soon). Check.
  • Started to compile a list of songs we like.  Oh, and I’m really excited about this: my brother has agreed to play guitar and sing for our ceremony.

Here’s what I have to do, in no particular order:

  • Print, assemble and mail invitations.
  • Tent layout (anyone have a strong recommendation for a particular software?) of tables, food, music, etc.
  • Send my little bro a playlist, both for the ceremony and reception music.
  • Write the ceremony.
  • Build cake platters.
  • Print miscellaneous printed items.
  • Write guest gratitude notes.
  • Buy a bra (yes, bad girl, haven’t done that).
  • Schedule a fitting… and find someone with whom to have said fitting.
  • Buy shoes (but I know which ones I want!)
  • Find a hair stylist.
  • We need to pick a first dance song and ceremony music, book our honeymoon, and reconfirm the guest list.  Ah, yes, and write the ceremony.

Oh, yea, and let’s not forget:

  • Paint the living room (yes, again).
  • Paint the kitchen.
  • Paint the kitchen cabinets.
  • Finish landscaping the front yard (ie: beautify the area we just destroyed when we — okay, he — dug a trench, laid new drainage pipe, and covered it all up with gravel).
  • Paint the porch.
  • Paint the garage door.
  • Plant the garden (not wedding-related, exactly).
  • Spread gravel down the trail to ceremony site.
  • Create various somewhat smart alecky signs for the trail to the ceremony site.
  • Plant clover on ceremony site.
  • Paint guest “quarter’s” (the 1600 square foot completely finished basement area – bedroom, bathroom, living area, kitchen).

If you’ve read this far, I think we can consider ourselves bff’s, because that was a long and very boring list. 🙂  And if you’re wondering what happened after my last meltdown (I think it was about invites), I will say that I just decided to not give a rat’s *ss about anything that I didn’t care about.  Duh, right?  If it’s on my list and I don’t get around to it because it doesn’t excite me, so be it.  Either someone will swoop in and save me (if it’s that important) or we’ll live without it.  I can only be me, even if I am playing a bride for a while.

And what excites me is furniture and house stuff so wait until I show you my latest projects!  I figure they’re wedding-related by virtue of the fact that we’re getting married here, right?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Two months and counting… a status update”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

Uh, crap did my first comment not go through. Dang it.

Well, let’s start this over, shall we?

First off, I love you Repeat Bride/Miss Cheese. Your posts always make me smile and I definitely needed that today (doggy heartache, but we won’t go into that). And I’m loving your concept of “Lessons Learned” and will wait with baited breath, because I’m sure I’ll find it incredibly helpful for our own home wedding.

Anyway, I just thought I would pass on a couple things that you may find helpful and that could give you ideas.

Here’s a wedding playlist I’ve put together so far for the games/cocktail hour, during the wedding, and transition into our reception.

http://www.playlist.com/playlist/14635885067

Also, we wrote out our own ceremony too, using lots of inspiration from bees and from humanistic wedding sites. Feel free to take whatever you like and turn the words your own wonderful way.

http://www.weddingbycolor.com/bananapants/milestones/41454

Good luck with EVERYTHING! And thanks for being so candid and honest in your blog.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

