If I could do it all over again…

Posted on April 17, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Remember when I said that I wasn’t going to spend one. more. minute thinking about invites?  I lied.  What can I say?

The most frustrating part of my whole invitation experience was that, had I planned a little better, I would have been much, much happier — all while spending about the same amount of money.

Learn from my mistakes, ye who follow.

I spent $52 for 60 invitations.  Not bad, right?  But I wasn’t happy at all with the quality of the paper.   I even debated buying new stationery, or at the very least envelopes, because I was so unhappy with them.

Paper Source

Stardream Quartz Pointed Flap Enclosure Flat Card: on sale at $3.25 for 25 = $9.75

Stardream Opal Half-Moon / Pocket Folder Enclosure Flat Card: on sale at $2.88 for 25 = $8.64

Sage A2 Rounded Card: on sale at $3.25 for 25 = $9.75

Pointed Flap – Butter Envelopes: on sale at $4.13 for 10 = $24.78

Total: $52.92.  With the same cost for stamps – $12 – the total would have been about $64… just $12 more than what I went with.  The trick with Paper Source, by the way, is to go straight to the Sale link and pick your options.

This wedding-planning thing sure makes you face who you are and what matters to you.  And if I have any advice to offer you, even those of you trying to stick to extreme budgets for whatever reason, it’s this: make sure you’re happy.  Now, I’m not saying that you need to be thrilled, or that every detail needs to be everything you’d always hoped, but you do need to be happy and willing to defend your decisions and details.

My invites didn’t meet that standard.  I hand carried one to a neighbor and found myself giving myself a pep talk on the way over.  “Don’t apologize for them; don’t mention that you bought them for less than twenty bucks; don’t apologize for them….”  This is no way to feel.

I like the invitation itself; if you know us, you’ll understand.  I like the inserts directing folks to RSVP online or by phone.  The design is simple and clean with a little bit of quirkiness.  I hate the envelopes.  Hate.  They’re cheap and flimsy and they make me sad.

In the end, having already spent the money on invites that were not reusable in any way, I kept them.  And I’m over it.  But if I had it to do all over again… well, now you know.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

