Everything I do…

Posted on April 30, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

… I do it for you.

You’re welcome for getting a cheesy Bryan Adams song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.  Now we’re in the same boat.  The Cheese Boat!

So, it’s 1am and I’m sitting in a hot, musty, fluorescent-lighted man-building (you know, the kind where only men work and the smells of metal and yucky hand soap mix with sweat and grease?) on the world’s worst office chair.

Why?

Because J’s been working all night on a side gig — with proceeds going to our honeymoon — and I’m the support crew.  I’ve made two caffeine runs, picked up crappy (yummy) fast food, and smiled each time he walked by for the sake of morale.

If that’s not love….

Really, he’s worth it.  He’s working incredibly hard with a really great attitude both to further the possibility of a bigger contract and to pull in some extra cash.  I hate that he does this, that he goes from his normal job directly to this extra work without a break often until morning, that he doesn’t get the time to rest and recharge during a very stressful time.

So if sitting in this shitty chair and smiling periodically makes him feel better about working nonstop for the last 17 hours, I will do it.  Boy, laying on a beach for a week is going to be SWEET.

It seems to have fallen out of vogue to talk about standing by your man, and in an if-it-was-at-my-own-expense way, I get that.  But isn’t the point of all of this to have someone who supports you?  Even if it’s only because they have no choice? 🙂

I feel like I owe y’all some follow-up after my last post, and I will get there, but right now this girl’s gotta head home and take a shower to get the metal smell outta my hair (“I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair”… anybody? Anybody?).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Everything I do…”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I dropped everything and picked Mark up at work yesterday and drove him to the doctor because he was having really bad knee pain (the more he tries to take up running, the more his body fights back). Then I went to the pharmacy, got him his prescription, and made dinner. It interfered some with the 30 page paper I was supposed to finish last night, and its finals season so really I’m kind of freaking out, but like you said, that is what supporting somebody means and I know he would do the same for me.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

