Dun, dun, dun, DUN! A short-haired bride’s hair trial.

Posted on May 6, 2009. Filed under: deciding |

I get a lot of traffic from people searching for short bridal hairstyles (and short and sassy hairstyles and sassy hair and short sassy hair and Mariska Hargitay) and I know why.  It’s freaking hard to find inspiration photos for those of us who lack long luscious locks (you like that alliteration, you know you do).

Now, my hair’s not super short anymore, but it is just past chin length in an inverse bob, which is code for IT’S NOT VERY LONG IN THE BACK and MY PONYTAILS LOOK VERY TWO-YEAR-OLD-ISH.  As a funny aside, the mister, when asked for his opinion on my wedding day ‘do, suggested that I wear it just like I normally do – uncombed, wet, in little pigtails generally secured with the rubber bands I got off the celery.  Now that’s love.

But it ain’t gonna happen.

Not knowing how to find a hairstylist who could meet my enormously nitpicky expectations, I did what any procrastinator would: I put it off.  Then, one day, with the 30-days-until milestone looming, I walked into a salon, pointed to the woman with hair most like mine, and asked if she did bridals.  One week later, I had a hair trial.

cimg0257cimg0258cimg0259

Photos by me.  Fabulous fascinator and veil by the lovely Kasia Fink

I couldn’t really see what she was doing, but it involved twisting individual sections of my hair and then pinning them to my head.  She also did some kind of magic that made my cheeks look less chipmunk-y and my eyes look bigger, which I assume has to do with the twisted sections at my temples.  Or the fact that styling implements and hair brushes were used (they don’t make an appearance very often ’round these parts).

I loved it.  Loved. It.  Finally, an appointment went well and made me happy.  Upon looking at pictures, though, I see a couple of changes I’ll suggest, and I’m providing my own bobby pins because hers got loose and slipped, but other than that I’m good.  Hair, check.

Someday I hope to have the time to hunt down the sources for my inspiration photos.  I seriously showed up to my appointment with my laptop and slide show of 20 images and no ability to tell her what I liked about them, only that I did.  And then she did her magic, and I can’t tell you how she figured out that this way would be best or that I’d like it, but I did.  I love magic.

How’d your hair trial go?  Are you doing one?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Dun, dun, dun, DUN! A short-haired bride’s hair trial.”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

Looks *fabulous*!

Thanks for this! I printed them off and took them to my own hair trial yesterday. Really helps to have some kind of inspiration for those of us shorter hair brides. 🙂

[…] Friday, I pulled up some pictures I liked, only two in addition to some pictures of Marisa/Miss Cheese’s ‘do trial posted earlier this week. I took them in and heard what I wanted to hear: though my […]

[…] pictures from my hair trial here for all you short-haired brides Googling “short hair sassy bridal style” or something similar. […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

