Oopsie (full stop).

Posted on May 14, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

It was bound to happen.  Really.  If you know me, you know I obsess and freak out over details, then hit a point where I stop obsessing and start avoiding.  That’s what the Oopsies begin.

I forgot to order flowers.  Well, technically, I didn’t forget, I just didn’t get around to it.  My plan was to order a couple hundred bucks’ worth of flowers from Sams Club — they sell stems of roses, daisies, carnations, and other flowers in bulk and ship them directly to you.  That was the plan, and my lovely FSIL even lent me her Sam’s card.

But I couldn’t decide which flowers to order, or in which colors, or how thye’d look together, so I just didn’t do it.  When I logged on, full of determination to push through the discomfort (seriously, it all makes my tummy hurt), I remembered they have a 10-day advance requirement.

Oopsie.

So, new plan.  I’ll either buy out the whole flower stand at the Farmer’s Market the Friday before our wedding, or I’ll hit up the grocery store or Walmart for bunches of flowers (Real Simple did a pretty cool article on turning grocery store flowers into wedding flowers) and use potted plants or herbs to spiffy up the tables.

source

Frankly, the new plans seem more fun!  Our friends and family can take the potted plants with them at the end of the evening (I’ll make a sign or something) and fewer plants will have been harmed in the making of this marriage. 🙂 Ah, yes, and shopping is involved.

With limited options, creativity happens, so I’m enjoying this.  Last night I watched my favorite guy dance a little jig because he felt so good in his wedding attire.  And he looked goooood.  My bff and I are going last-minute dress shopping for her this weekend.  My future sister in law has been the sweetest, offering to run errands for me to places like Hobby Lobby.  My siblings will be singing at our ceremony.  Life is pretty freaking good.

So it all just makes me giggle.  Hi, I’m a bride and I forgot to order flowers. Oopsie. Have you forgotten anything big?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Oopsie (full stop).”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I didn’t forget, but I went the same route and got my flowers from Whole Foods two days before the event (giving them one day to soak and open up).

You can link to my blog and see a few pictures.

They turned out great.

Yup! We forgot to tell our guests we were canning the receiving line. You see, we got married in the picture-perfect church — complete with a big center-aisle and stairs to walk down. It was just right for a receiving line!

But we knew we were going to be spending all afternoon with our guests & that we’d get a chance to have a “real conversation” with everyone over lunch… so we didn’t see the point of a line in which you shake someone’s hand, chat for about 20 seconds, and move on to the next person. (And for another thing, I’m not sure I could limit my blabber to 20-seconds a person! C’mon! I’m just getting warmed up!!)

The thing is, our reasons for canning the line seemed so *obvious* to us… that we forgot to mention it to anyone else. When the wedding was over we waltzed down the center aisle, out the big church doors, paused for a quick smooch in the sun, hopped into our car… and were gone!

Ooops!

I guess once the guests realized we weren’t coming back, they stopped waiting in line and headed on to the lunch spot.
We did wonder why we were among the first people to arrive…

(Please note: many of our guests still mention to us how much they enjoyed our wedding — particularly the un-hurried conversations we had with them over lunch, and the fact that we so seemed genuinely glad of their company. For all the receiving-line blunders… I think the memory most people took away was “they appreciated spending the day with me!” Well, that and watching us drive off in our car like the church was on fire!)


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

