A contest…

Posted on June 5, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

… my first ever (not counting the invite design bleg for help).  I’ve unsubscribed from wedding blogs and finally cleaned up the huge rat’s nest I call my desk, filing or tossing wedding DIY paraphernalia, but I am left with a stack of wedding-related books that need a good home.

So, we’ll do this the easy way: leave a comment with your preference, and I’ll choose the recipient based on whatever makes sense to me at the time.  Perhaps the first to speak up gets the book.  Maybe, if by some strange twist of the universe lots of folks want the same book, I’ll use random.org.  If you’re a Weddingbee reader, don’t wait for this post to go up there, as it won’t.  Self-sponsored contests stay on our own sites.

Up for grabs:

Joyful Wedding, A Spiritual Path to the Altar by Susan Piver – Um, nevermind, I’ve decided to keep this one because I just found a list of “hard questions” to be discussed between you and your mate, and I suspect we haven’t hit them all.  Oops.  But if you’re looking for a straightforward spiritual guide (if such a thing exists), this is it.

Wedding Goddess, a divine guide to tranforming wedding stress into wedding bliss by Laurie Sue Brockway – okay, so it sounds a little hokey, and I didn’t rely on it very heavily, but a few of the really necessary guiding lights I used came from this book: engagement is a transition so use it to learn, for example.

The Wedding Book, the big book for your big day by Mindy Weiss – This book rocks, especially if you’re just getting going with the whole wedding planning thing.  It’s like the encyclopedia of wedding planning books, from an author who knows of what she speaks.  At just under 500 pages, it’s a heavy honker to carry around, but I found it a great reference each time my wedding planning phase changed (from guest lists to invites to attire to menu to seating).

Emotionally Engaged, A bride’s guide to surviving the “happiest” day of her life, by Allison Moir-Smith, which I reviewed and recommended in this post.  Love it.  Love.

I’ll do this again as I find more books in weird spaces (it’s an f’d up scavenger hunt around here, remember?).  Thanks for being my readers. (Aw.)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “A contest…”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I’ve been reading your blog for months now (here, not at weddingbee) and haven’t ever commented. (I know, I’m ashamed. And I’m sorry.) If you can manage to forgive me that, I would love to receive your copy of Emotionally Engaged. I too am (something of) a repeat bride (never legally married, but emotionally) and I love the way your posts seem to express what I cannot find the words to say now that I am beginning to plan a wedding to another man. I have your “Honesty” post (Dec 9, 2008) bookmarked and I read it regularly because it sounds so much like me. I’d love to “win” your book because I could definitely use the help! If nothing else, thank you so much for being open and honest with your struggles and your joys. Thank you for helping me navigate my second round of wedding planning. Just, thank you.

Julia –

It’s yours, both for being the first to comment and for sucking up (I kid, I kid!)…. send me your address and I’ll drop it in the mail as soon as the guilt from driving around with it in my passenger seat overwhelms my dread of running errands.

Smoochies, Marisa

As I commented yesterday….I love your blog! Your honesty about all things wedding related is so refreshing. You make me feel “not so crazy” when I know I’m not the only one experiencing these thoughts and feelings. My wedding isn’t until Oct. 2010 but I just know I will be using your past posts to get me through each phase.

Anywho………I would love to have The Wedding Book if you are willing to part with it 🙂

Hi, Amy Jo… it’s yours! (Evidently we’re going with the first come-first serve contest theory). I’ll email you shortly and you can send me your mailing address.

M

Woohoo! Thanks Marisa! How do I contact you? Or you could just email me and I’ll send my address? jdchinnock [at] gmail I’m so excited!

Emotionally Engaged please 🙂

Need it. Want it.

Love love love your blog.

I got so excited that I didn’t read the previous comments. Sorry!

OH, Kathy! I’m bummed for you! I hit my bookshelf and found “The Conscious Bride” by Sheryl Nissinen. Google, and if you want it, it’s yours. It’s not as direct as EE, but it offers first-person accounts of pre- and post-wedding emotions, and I really liked it. Let me know!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

