Adventures in Name Changing, parte dos

Posted on June 8, 2009. Filed under: reality |

No, I haven’t yet straightened out the DMV situation.  That’s a story for another day, hopefully when it’s actually straightened out (I just love a happy ending, ya know?).

No, this post is about how name changing affects your life in much more insidious and PITA ways: email accounts and blogs.  I posted a while back that I reserved a new Gmail account in my new name.  Seemed like the right thing to do, since my current personal email account includes my maiden name.

I HAD NO IDEA HOW MANY PLACES THAT PESKY LITTLE EMAIL ACCOUNT WAS USED.  Seriously.  Bank logins, insurance accounts, benefits websites, online magazines… and blogs.  Oh, the blogs.

See, you can’t switch the primary email address on a Google account.  Say what?  Yes, let me repeat: you cannot change the primary email address on a Google account if that email address is a Gmail address.

Editing Your Account: Username

You can’t change the email address on your account to an existing Gmail address, but we invite you to add a new Gmail address to your Google Account.

If you use Gmail with your Google Account, it’s not currently possible to change your Gmail username after you’ve registered. You can, however, create another Google Account with a different Gmail username.

If you don’t use Gmail with your Google Account, you can change your account username to another email address at any time. Your username is the full email address you used to create your account.

So, bummer.  And I have yet to figure out how to make all of my blogs and such associate with the new email address.  In the meantime, I’m going to get a drink.  We’re bringing back cocktail hour in the Cheese household, at least until this whole name-changing situation is under control.

Oh, one more warning: when you change your name at the DMV in most states, they take away your old license. So until you get your name changed at your bank and get a new check card, etc, you might run into problems when you try to use your old card.  Ugg.  Grab some cash or get a temporary ATM card, okay?

{On the bright side, saying “my husband” a thousand times while doing all of this is kinda nice.}

Has anyone out there done this whole email switch from one Gmail account to another successfully?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Adventures in Name Changing, parte dos”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

[…] Adventures in Name Changing, parte dos « Repeat Bride […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

