Post-wedding paperwork

Posted on June 10, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

{And before you ask, yes, I promise I will post pictures — real pictures! — of our wedding just as soon as I have some and get my mind around how I want to tell the story.  Really.  I’m not planning to accidentally forget to give you proof that we did indeed have a wedding in spite of my procrastination and general unwillingness to do anything ahead of time.  Pinky swear.}

So, along with the name-changing party going on around here (I’m trying to put a happy spin on it), we’re also buried under a mountain of post-wedding paperwork.  Rather, I’m buried since we long ago agreed that I’m the Paperwork Doing part of this couple and he’s the Dealing with Plumbing part.  Fair, I think, though I still reserve the right to be resentful sometimes.

Whether or not you change your name, there are records to share, beneficiaries to update, and insurance policies to adjust.  We all know that I’m no bastion of organization, but I don’t have to be.  Trent over at The Simple Dollar has an astoundingly comprehensive Information Disaster Plan.  Build the plan and you’ll soon discover what needs to be done post-wedding.

So far, I’ve updated the beneficiary on my life insurance policy, scheduled a meeting with the mister’s insurance agent to add me to his auto insurance, made plans to make him a secondary account holder to my savings and checking accounts (I have a billion of them), added him to my health insurance, ordered new insurance cards, scheduled physicals and dentals for both of us.  My withholding was already at the married level, but his needed to be adjusted.  None of that had anything to do with changing my name (which I’ll blog more about, don’t you worry).

We haven’t yet decided how (or when) to merge our finances, so in the meantime, adding each other to every account ensures that we don’t run into problems if either of us suddenly wins an all-expense paid vacation and can’t log in to the accounts (or goes to jail and needs bail money, but that’s not as fun to think about).

Do you have an information disaster plan?  How are you handling post-wedding paperwork (or planning to, if you’re not married yet)?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Post-wedding paperwork”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

You are a marvelous writer! I was in search of ‘short sassy hairstyle pictures’ and came across your blog. One hour later…I’m still reading! It’s a delight to see into your heart and soul.

Oh, how sweet are you! Thanks for the comment!

Tell me more about yourself. Are you engaged? Recently married? Neither and just needing a haircut? (LOL – I’m a hairstyle googler too)

Thanks again for the sweet comment… I love hearing from readers. OH, and I should give you a heads up: since our wedding is over, most of my non-name-changing-griping posts are on my post-wedding site: http://www.notquitebettycrocker.com.

Marisa


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

