And it begins….

Posted on July 8, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

{Note: I’m changing themes for the duration of my recaps because I have no patience with resizing pictures and I don’t want them to be cropped by my current theme, which I much preferred.}

I’m a jealous person.  I know, I know, not the most flattering of personality traits, but since honesty is one of the better of those, I may as well admit it.

I went to a wedding just two weeks after ours, and though it was surprisingly just like ours (funny what they say about imitation), I was a bit jealous.  That couple did very little of their own planning, and I thought about how nice it would be to just walk into a well-planned wedding.

I saw the lovely Mrs. Meatball’s pics and I was OH, so very jealous.  She looks like the cutest and happiest freaking fairy (I say that with love!) and I wanted to be just like her.  Just like that.  Exactly like that.

But then I got a sneak peak at a few of our pictures and I remembered: Oh, THAT’S who I am.  I’m the loud mouth who laughs with her whole body.

2152 BW

I’m the nutcase whose every thought crosses her face – flattering or otherwise.2127 BW

I’m the one who hugged her mom so tight,

1392 BW

laughed so hard,

1254

danced so much,

2109 BW

ate every bite on her plate

1986

and smiled at her husband all night (or is that lust?).

1853

That’s me.

1416 VERTICAL CROP

And him?  He’s the cutie pie who dances a jig when he’s all dressed up.

1290

He’s the man who fully admitted wanting to pass out from the stress of standing in front of all of those people.

1575

He’s the fella who noticed how much fun I was having dancing with my brother and so he just had to cut in.

2292 BW 2317 BW

And we’re the couple so happy with our lives that we couldn’t help but want to host our own wedding,

1202

at our own home,

1205

on our own street.

2000

Because we love our neighbors, almost all of whom joined us for the party, even those who had to be helped up the street or helped home afterward.

2325 BW

And we love our families, our people who traveled hundreds of miles — and then another twenty between our house and Home Depot — and smiled while cleaning and hugged while helping.

1754 1762 BW 1634 1645 1745

And we love our friends, who traveled and sweated and calmed a stressed out woman down by taking over the directing and the executing and the scheduling.

1362 BW 1399 BW 1939 BW

And then they danced.

2203 BW

That’s us.

1954 BW

And this was our wedding.

1839

Consider this the beginning of my recaps. As you can see, they won’t be organized in any rational fashion.  You know the story, because you’re living it.  Guy meets girl, proposes, much planning and freaking out ensues, then culminates in a wedding filled with carefully and lovingly executed details and stunning coordination.  Except that I’m not much good at details, and the coordination was anything but stunning, so instead, I’m going to share our story in the way that feels best… which I’m going to figure out as I go.

All photography by Angela Herzog of Angela Herzog Photography (www.angelaherzogphotography.com) unless otherwise noted.  Asterisks (*) indicate that post-processing was done by me, and thus, should not be held against her.  See this post for more details.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “And it begins….”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

I love how you wrote your recap. It looks like a pretty perfect wedding to me, full of emotion, having such an expressive face is a good thing 🙂

[…] Part I: And It Begins […]

[…] Part I: And It Begins […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

