And we danced

Posted on September 6, 2009. Filed under: wedding recaps |

My husband and I debated our first dance song for weeks.  I wanted romantic; he wanted fun.  At some point, I gave in, figuring it would be less embarrassing to pick something fun and cheesy and join in the laughs than to sway and smooch with everyone watching.

2033 BW

So we chose “Islands in the Stream.”  Oh, yea! Dolly (who is pretty loved around these parts) and Kenny singing the cheesiest song ever… and one that we both apparently sang as five year olds.  With heart.

2317 2040 BW 2042 BW

My girls joined in to help detract from the train wreck about to happen.  Smart girls. 

2050 BW

Here we go.

2056 2059 

So embarrassing.  Who knew that song was so incredibly long?  Not us, that’s for sure. 

We survived.

My people are dancers, turning every get-together into an excuse to party… but most of my people weren’t at our wedding reception, joining us instead at our hometown reception.  Having grown up in my own family, I didn’t realize not all families are dancers, so I was a little bit sad that our dance floor wasn’t packed with people.

But hey, the people closest to me and it made for some fantastic photo ops.  Always a bright side! 

Check it out:

 2079 BW 2098 BW

We sing, too!

2102 BW

Oh, the embarrassment!

2109 BW

Look at the joy on my stepsister’s face!

2114 2115 2116

Me and my best girls:

2203

“I wanna dance!”2205 2208 2210

I taught my new husband how to two-step.  “See, honey, my parents are doing it.”

2273 BW

2274 BW

He agreed to try and he did great!

2262 2264

… but complained that dancing made his legs hurt.  Wimp! (I say that with love!)

2284 BW

My brother stepped in to show him how it’s done.

2292 2306

And my hubby had to step back in!

2317 BW 

He’s thinking he’s pretty awesome.  {And yet again, I’m checking him out… or am I looking at my cleavage?  Hard to tell.}

2140 BW

Note to future brides: if you’re going to serve beer in bottles (easy peasy), CHARGE SOMEONE WITH POURING YOURS INTO A GLASS, FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE.  Then again, who cares?  Not me!

2183 BW 

*Happy sigh*  So much fun! You don’t need a packed dance floor or a pricey DJ to have a great wedding reception.  You just need fun-loving peeps and a fantastic little bro willing to manage your playlist.  Isn’t he just the suavest?

We used our home theater speaker system, his laptop, and a really long extension cord.  We didn’t have any problems, and I’m told we even took requests for songs and downloaded them on the fly via my wireless connection.

2019 BW 

When I started writing this post I’d planned to end with a lesson: do not hesitate to go with a romantic first dance song, because I often wish we had.  But, as has happened so often during my recap-writing, I remembered how darned fun and completely appropriate our decisions were, and I realize I wouldn’t have had it any other way. 

Sure, it was embarrassing, but we’ve always been willing to laugh at our own expense.  Like the story of our life, the idea was good, the implementation not so perfect, the end result perfectly suited to us.

So do what feels right.  And then enjoy the heck out of it.

All photography by Angela Herzog of Angela Herzog Photography (www.angelaherzogphotography.com) unless otherwise noted.  Asterisks (*) indicate that post-processing was done by me, and thus, should not be held against her.  See this post for more details.

Late to the party? See previous recaps here:

Part I: And It Begins

Part II: My People, Part I

Part III: It’s Time

Part IV: Our Ceremony

Part V: My People, Part II

Part VI: Celebrate Good Times, COME ON ALREADY!

Part VII: Yummy Yummy For My Tummy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “And we danced”

RSS Feed for Repeat Bride Comments RSS Feed

[…] Part VIII: And We Danced […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

