Inspiration

Posted on October 3, 2008. Filed under: inspiration |

I’ve spent the last handful of posts waxing poetic about my emotional struggles and my learning curve when it comes to relationships. Those of us facing a second chance at a committed life (and facing our expectations of what that would be) have both the future and the past to deal with. It’s important (so important) yet frustratingly unacknowledged.

Today, though, I’m taking a break from the angst and depth, going through all of my inspiration pictures and posting my favorites. Because, repeat bride or not, we all want the day we commit to another (for eternity this time!) to be special, magical, important. It may not be the best day of my life, but I’d like for it to be one of the more memorable.

{I have a reason for this. I’m not so good at trusting or believing in good and happy things. Committing, for me, is incredibly difficult. I constantly fight against my instinct for self-preservation to find the space to be committed and generous with my love. When I pledge myself with my vows, I want to be fully present and I want to remember the moment clearly… because when things get hard, I’ll need those promises and the memory of our hope and happiness in that moment to get me through.}

How amazingly cool and elegant and totally wonderful is this bride in a non-white, non-ivory, non-lace dress? I want to be like this before I do the big thing — sitting on a couch, putting on my own shoes, NOT dripping in drama.

source
A sweater! Over a wedding dress! Yay for comfort!

source

Huppah. Because, c’mon, who doesn’t want to be sheltered by our new home, surrounded by the love of our friends and family?

source
Hello, young, in love, and so darned sweet!

source
Hiya, Sexy. This may be the first (only?) sexy as all get out getting-dressed-to-get-married picture.

source

The BEST backyard wedding. They upgraded their property (bonus!) and had a great time with their friends and family in the house where they became a family.

source

More later!

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

    About

    I’ve been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and divorce papers) to prove it. Here I am again, pledging my life to my (new) love with eyes wide open (and heart racing) knowing full well how emotionally traumatic this can end… and doing it anyway.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...